photo 20131123-gallettas0_zps4cbbc5b9.jpg

Rickety looking kart, you say? Junky yard kart, you say? Beat you, it will! Try.

The Galletta’s Greenhouse Racing Kart #0 is a Single-Wheel-Drive Racing Kart acquired by the club as a donation kart in the year 2002, and is traditionally one of the quickest karts in the fleet. It was a prefabricated kart of unknown origin and manufacture, but was rebuilt to Galletta’s Karting Club specifications by Wesley James “Ogre” Stevens and Matthew Stevens. Some “lesser” drivers through the years that failed miserably and claimed that only Chris and Matt have fast karts and all the rentals are slow have been empirically proven wrong time and time again with especially the Galletta’s #0, as good drivers get impressive wins in it, and bad drivers… well… suck. Which one are you?

It has been driven by countless drivers through the years, and many drivers have won feature races behind the wheel (Matt Stevens, Chris Stevens, Kyle Reuter, Gary Miller Sr., Michael “MC” Howell, Nick Dann, Keith Raymond, etc.), but it’s biggest win was the 2009 Galletta’s Greenhouse Klassic 200 with Kyle Reuter behind the wheel. In addition, Chris Stevens placed it TWICE in Galletta’s Klassics in 2002 and 2014 (both only bested by Matt Stevens in the #3). Unfortunately, although it ran several races at Oswego Kartway with different drivers at the helm, it oddly never won a race there.

Kyle Reuter wins the 2010 Klassic

Kyle Reuter proved that ANY kart can win at Galletta’s, as he became the first visiting driver to win a Galletta’s 200-Lap Klassic in it in 2009! The greatest win to date in the #0!

Although a fast kart with many wins under different pilots it could have been many more! It has been prone to comically break, often while in the lead, as Kyle Reuter, Jason Mills, and Gary Miller Sr. have all had humorous mechanical failures while leading races in this kart. It was also the kart driven by Kelly Miller when he got assaulted on-track in 2005. But it does not take away from the fact that when it doesn’t break, it is FAST and can win with an experienced driver behind the wheel. Don’t believe us? Click below:

– Click here to see a list of all races won by the Galletta’s Greenhouse Racing Team #0 kart.
– Click here to see all races tagged as Klassic 200 win in the Galletta’s Greenhouse Racing Team #0

Feature Wins in the #0 Kart

[Last Updated after 2017 Season]

Jul 16, 2017
Jun 24, 2017
Sep 11, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Jun 19, 2015
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 23, 2012
Oct 02, 2010
Jul 05, 2010
Jun 07, 2010
Jul 27, 2009
Jul 29, 2007
Jun 24, 2007 6/24/2007 – Kyle Reuter passes Matt Stevens for the 12-Kart/50-Lap Win! +YouTube

Note: There have been more wins for the #0 in the pre-history era of the track (pre-2005, before every single race was video recorded, digitally processed and uploaded to the internet. Check back frequently, as we update as we find more!).

Fun facts: Paint job was initially yellow and black for Jesse Vivlemore’s worship of his beloved Joe Gosek’s yellow #00 he drove at Oswego Speedway in the early 2000s. However, due to Jesse abandoning the sport (due to little itty-bitty boo-boos… awww… c’mon Jesse, you’re welcome to come up and race, we invite you all the time!), it was repainted with a paint job more or less loosely inspired by Doug Heveron’s #1 cars of the early 1980s, since the original Galletta’s Greenhouse Racing #1 (which had the number and paint scheme) was retired in 1997:

 photo 1983 Classic 200 Doug Heveron #1 Doug Heveron / laprade #1.jpg

Some of the highlights and wins in the Galletta’s #0 with several different drivers behind the wheel:

 photo gallettakarts20070729winv2_zps3e635f84.jpg

July 27, 2007: Matt Stevens

Gary Miller Sr. (posing with son Collin) wins the 11-kart 45-lap seson opener at Galletta's Backyard Karting Speedway - the longest-running, largest and most experienced dirt karting class in Oswego, NY

June 7, 2010: Gary Miller Sr.

7/27/2009,Nick Dann,Winner,Galletta's #0

July 27, 2009: Nick Dann

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

June 24, 2007: Kyle Reuter

Click to enlarge photo (opens new window)

July 5, 2010: DJ Mike Howell

 photo 2014-10-11-klassic-19h52m21.jpg

Oct 11, 2014: 2nd in Klassic

 photo 20150619-karting-winners-R.jpg

June 19, 2015: Chris Stevens

July 16, 2017: Keith Raymond